‘Bridget Jones’s Diary’

FIELDING, HELEN: Bridget Jones’s Diary. London: Picador, 1996.

“A dazzling urban satire of modern human relations? An ironic, tragic insight into the demise of the nuclear family? Or the confused ramblings of a pissed thirty-something?”

Front cover of the book.

I never saw the film. I like to read books, not to watch them. But the popularity the film gave the book was obviously determinant for my choice. Maybe I would have never heard of it otherwise. It might seem a stupid book about some relationship-obsessed woman, both friends and love relationships. Well, it’s sort of it, but not only. OK, it is.

I chose this book because I had been some months without reading in English and wanted to start with something easy. The only problems are some slang and that you find lots of clothes and food names you don’t study in class ― there’s a complete world beyond trousers and onion. What was I thinking? It’s about a woman! And perhaps the diary style writing was not the best to get on the language again. There are lots of grammatically needed items missing in this book.

The fact is I liked it. It’s funny, maybe because you see there’s someone doing worse than you and you don’t even need to feel guilty of being happy about it because she’s not real. And the funniest ― and saddest ― part of it is that you identify with her. Well, I did, OK?

Although I’m not her age I see some of these situations coming and I quite agree with her thoughts and conclusions. She overreacts a bit, but she’s fiction after all; readers need this to get the picture easily and not getting bored. I just hope my blog won’t turn into hers in five years.

2 thoughts on “‘Bridget Jones’s Diary’

  1. Pingback: El trio literari d’avui és… « Visc en un bloc

  2. Pingback: ‘Do You Come Here Often?’ | Either a linguist or a chemist be

Leave a Reply

