Rihanna’s carol

I’ve realised I’ve only written about music once in my whole (though short) blogger life. Maybe it’s about time I put some rhythm in my modern life. I don’t claim to be an expert about music, but since you read my film reviews…

Christmas is coming (you know streets will be flashing it in a month time) and that makes me think of Rihanna. She has yet to meet somebody who hasn’t realised that Man Down is a version of The Little Drummer Boy.

A quite silent night.

Since this carol (originally known as Carol of the Drum) was written more than fifty years ago, scores of artists have sung it on their Christmas albums. This is sort of sad because artists doing compilations and versions seem to have little left to offer; which is even worse when they are Christmas based.

But Rihanna doesn’t just sing the song with some arrangements; she mashed up Bohemian Rhapsody, I Shot the Sheriff and The Little Drummer Boy into Man Down. Well done. If The Black Eyed Peas and Jason Derülo could do this with The Time (Dirty Bit) and Don’t Wanna Go Home, so can she. But remember she used a carol…

2 thoughts on “Rihanna’s carol

Leave a Reply

